Simply Thankful

by Michelle

23 years ago today I was born – and it’s been an interesting 23 years. The past 7 years have been especially painful and full of growth and self discovery for me – although, most people can say that about 16-23 – but for reasons I choose not to express, I feel like it has been especially so for me. The point I am trying to make is, I have never felt so complete as I do today. I have had a lot of interesting and failed friendships over the years, I have had people randomly drop out of my life, friends who think it’s okay to tell me the mean things their other friends say about me “because they’re just trying to help me be a better person” and plenty of those weird fast friendships that fizzle out. I look at the people I have in my life today and I am simply so thankful for all that they bring to me. After a flooding of birthday and love wishes from people I could cry at how loved I feel, more loved than I have ever felt in my life. I’ve never been someone with a lot of friends that I felt like truly loved me, and I am just so thankful that not only do I have a number of good friends, but that I can trust they love me just for who I am. There have been too many people in my life that tell me I need to be a different person, that I am abrasive or bitchy. I only have one thing to say:
Fuck ’em!

Was that abrasive/bitchy?

To all the people in my life that I love, both friends and family – whether you live in Washington, Colorado, Oregon or New York – you are with me today in my heart, and I cannot express in words how much I appreciate the love, friendship, frivolity, and happiness you bring to my life. Don’t raise your glasses tonight to me, but raise them to yourselves, for I would not be who I am today without you.

Anderson out.

