Michelle from the Block

by Michelle

I am currently watching the movie Honey with Jessica Alba (she’s in the movie, we aren’t watching it together, to be clear) and it got me thinking about how much I love dance themed movies. They are always inspirational, someone and/or a community overcomes something through their love for dance. I really do love them – the bad ones and the good ones. One of my all time favorites is Save the Last Dance with Julia Stiles – such a good movie. I LOVE Julia Stiles and any movie that she is in, and a movie that combines my love for JS and my love for dance movies is a jackpot. My favorite part of the movie is when JS becomes all ghetto and starts wearing her hair in half braids and wearing big puffy jackets and timberlands. She is so sassy in that movie. When I was younger I kept thinking something like that was definitely going to happen to me, and now I live in Bedstuy. And I keep wondering, where is my sassy black girlfriend that is going to show me the ropes and take me to some good clubs in the area? I want to dance under overpasses on my walk home and meet some fine man who will show me how to do that head bob thing (I can already do the double step thing). I mean, I’m not too worried about it, because it’s obviously going to happen. And then watch out, I’m going to get braids and some hoop earrings, and then I can finally say: “You better check yourself before you wreck yourself!”

Anderson Out.

