Interior Design

by Michelle

Russian "art"This weird framed blanket is on the wall in my room. Before I moved in, Vlad re-did the basement and decorated it how he saw fit. I was under the impression that I would be able to, at the very least, move the framed blanket to the other side of the basement that I do not occupy, and then I would be free to exercise self expression on the walls of my room. Little did I know that old Soviet officer Vlad had other plans for my self expression. Not only is said framed blanket drilled into the wall, the screws are PAINTED OVER so that it can never be taken down – or at least not without his permission, which I would be hard up to get. I shouldn’t have expected anything less – this is just a small window into what it is like to live with the Russian in-laws.

